Cross contamination in black beans?

Hi folks, I have severe allergies to wheat, barley and rye and live gluten free. I’ve been wanting to add some new foods (and cut down on the grocery bill) and thought beans would be a good start.

I found an article that said beans have a really high rate of cross contamination. According to the article, it’s not unusual to find whole kernels of barley in a bag of beans, even those certified gf.

Wondering what your experience is with beans. I would especially like to hear from those who are extremely sensitive. I don’t have celiac, however I am extremely allergic and have reacted to even trace amounts. Worst reaction I had was to a tiny antibiotic the size of a tic tac that had wheat starch as a filler.

Thanks to the Courtesy of :

https://www.reddit.com/r/glutenfree/comments/eq4710/cross_contamination_in_black_beans/

Leave a Reply